About the GSMA

Featured Spotlight Area

<em>Smoky Mountain Magic</em>

Smoky Mountain Magic

SMOKY MOUNTAIN MAGIC--Horace Kephart's fictional adventure set in the Deep Creek watershed, Cherokee Indian Reservation, and Bryson City in the summer of 1925. Written in 1929 and never before published. The original manuscript was passed down for 3 generations recently surfaced during the park's 75th anniversary celebration. "What better topic than a journey into a forbidden realm, complete with witches, robber barons, noble savages and a winsome lady, all wrapped in a cloak of mystery and myth?" asks reviewer Gary Carden. Kephart is featured in Ken Burn's PBS series on our national parks. He is the author of "Our Southern Highlanders", "Cherokees of the Smokies", and "Camping and Woodcraft". Available in hardcover and softcover. Read More >


Visit The Store

Sign up for Smokies eNews


Who We Are

Great Smoky Mountains Association supports the perpetual preservation of Great Smoky Mountains National Park and the national park system by promoting greater public understanding and appreciation through education, interpretation, and research. Since its inception in 1953, the Association, a private, nonprofit organization, has provided more than $32 million worth of assistance to the park. Similar nonprofit park partner organizations operate throughout the national park system and offer reciprocal benefits to fellow associations and their members.

The 2014 GSMA Board of Directors

Danny Bernstein of Asheville, NC
Geoff Cantrell of Rocky Mount, NC
Mitch Crisp of Sylva, NC
Herb Handly of Sevierville, TN
Chairman William A. Hart, Jr. of Fletcher, NC
George Kimberly of Charlotte, NC
Dan Lawson of Maryville, TN
Carolyn Leahy of Knoxville, TN
Vice Chair Cheryl Light of Dandridge, TN
Tom Massie of Sylva NC
Wayne Shepherd of Jonesborough, TN
Ken Smither of Maryville, TN

Contact the Staff

The Management Team

Terry Maddox, Executive Director
Howard Clinton, Finance Director
Lisa Duff, Marketing and Membership Director
Steve Kemp, Interpretive Products and Services Director
Dawn Roark, Product Support Director


Support Staff

Judy Collins, Marketing and Membership Associate
Kelli Green, Accounting and HR Assistant
Joey Heath, Senior Publications Specialist
Dale Heiser, Product Assistant
Lisa Horstman, Publications Specialist
Dennis Houk, Product Foreman
Karen Key, Publications Specialist
Marybeth McRae, Product Support Associate
Brenda Ownby, Assistant Product Support Director
Marti Smith, Marketing and Membership Associate
Curt Talbot, Wholesale and Advertising Representative
Toni Thompson, Assistant Product Foreman
Gary Wilson, Digital Media Specialist and Webmaster


Retail Store Management Staff

Carolina Team
Oconaluftee Visitor Center, Clingmans Dome Visitor Center and Swain County Visitor Center (coming this summer)
Barry Hipps, Manager
Joanne Furr, Assistant Manager

Blount Team
Cades Cove Visitor Center and Townsend Visitor Center
Russell Heenie, Manager
Kevin Roberson, Assistant Manager

Sevier Team
Sugarlands Visitor Center, Gatlinburg Welcome Center and Sevier County Visitor Center
Judy Bowman, Manager
Dave DeBruicker, Assistant Manager
Alice Kellogg, Senior Sales and Display Associate
Kathy Wolff, Assistant Manager